The public intoxication law in Texas contains three parts, all of which must be legally met for public intoxication to occur, according to the Texas Constitution and Statues. A person can be prosecuted for public intoxication if he appears in a public place while intoxicated to a degree that he might put himself or others in danger.Know More
According to CriminalDefenseLawyer.com, to meet the standards of public intoxication in Texas, the intoxication must occur in a "public place," which is defined as any place where members of the public have access. This includes abandoned property and any place that is licensed to sell alcohol, like bars or clubs.
Being intoxicated is defined by two standards, according to the Texas Constitution and Statutes. The first is that blood alcohol content must be above 0.08; this is a standard definition in many states. Texas also defines intoxication as not displaying the normal use of mental or physical faculties due to the abuse of alcohol or another substance. This means that officers can arrest people for public intoxication without the required proof of a breathalyzer test or field sobriety test.
The final portion of the law is that the intoxication must place the intoxicated person or others in danger. Under Texas law, as stated by CriminalDefenseLawyer.com, it is enough if an intoxicated person poses a threat to others; no proof of immediate danger is required.
Wikipedia states that public intoxication in Texas is a Class C misdemeanor. Those convicted of it can be placed in a detoxification facility or rehabilitation center at the arresting officer's discretion. Because public intoxication is a misdemeanor, the punishment is a fine of not more than $500. Criminal convictions and repeat offenses, however, can carry more severe punishments.Learn more about Law
Texas bigamy laws prevent the act of marrying someone while already married to someone else. As of 2014, bigamy is not only illegal in Texas, but it is also against the law in every state of the United States and is punishable by a penalty of up to 5 years in prison.Full Answer >
In Texas as of 2014, there is no waiting period to remarry someone that you've divorced. However, if you wish to marry a person other than the one you have just divorced, there is a 30-day waiting period.Full Answer >
In order to have a protective order dropped in Texas, a motion must be filed with the judge who ordered it. Both applicant and respondent are required to attend the hearing to show just cause for terminating the restraining order.Full Answer >
The filing spouse must first meet the Texas residency requirements and have a legally acceptable reason to file for divorce before filing divorce papers, according to WomensLaw.org. Copies of the filing are then sent to the spouse, who can dispute the terms or leave it uncontested.Full Answer >