According to Womenslaw.org, third-degree battery occurs when a person causes intentional physical injury to a family or household member, causes physical injuries through recklessness or neglect, possibly by using a lethal weapon, or purposefully causes mental impairment or physical injury through administering drugs or other such substance without the consent of the household or family member. Battery is defined as the intentional striking or injuring of a victim, causing the other person harm without the consent.Know More
Third-degree battery, along with second-degree battery, is considered a less serious misdemeanor than first-degree battery. It is a Class A misdemeanor and is punishable by imprisonment up to one year. If a person harms and injures a pregnant woman, he can be charged with Class D felony, punishable by six years in a county jail. The same sentence is true for a defendant who has been previously convicted with aggravated assault within the last five years.
A person who claims to be a victim of domestic battery may file a petition to the court for a protective order. If a case is filed and the court finds that domestic violence indeed occurred, the victim can be protected by issuing a restraining order to the abuser, preventing the abuser from harming, injuring or harassing the victim in any way. The abuser may also be ordered out of the house and provide financial support to the spouse and minor children.Learn more in Crime
A third degree felony is a crime that carries a penalty of 2 to 10 years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $10,000. Some examples of third degree felonies in Texas include possession of 5 to 50 pounds of marijuana and a drive-by shooting with no injury.Full Answer >
Although there are minor variations from state to state, criminal mischief in the third degree is the least serious criminal offense related to property damage. The severity of the crime increases based on the cost incurred. For example, in New York State, property damage exceeding $250 is defined as criminal mischief in the third degree, while damage exceeding $1,500 is defined as a second degree crime.Full Answer >
The difference between manslaughter and murder, of any degree, is the issue of premeditation. The intent to kill determines whether it is appropriate to class a homicide as murder, according to The Economist, with manslaughter being reserved for unintentional, or even accidental, killing.Full Answer >
Sentencing for a charge of criminal trespassing depends on the degree of the charge, the state and court in which the charge is filed, and the defendant's criminal history. Unless the charge is a felony, most defendants are looking at a fine or probation, according to NOLO.Full Answer >