Third-degree burglary, known as burglary in the third degree, is the act of breaking into or unlawfully entering a building or automobile with the intent to steal something. In burglary in the third degree, the actual act of stealing does not take place because the individual is caught prior to stealing.Know More
The burden of proof in burglary in the third degree lies in establishing that an individual entered a structure or automobile with the intent to commit a crime. If this is successfully done, the individual is guilty of burglary in the third degree even though he did not actually take anything.
Burglary in the third degree is a felony crime and carries with it a prison sentence and possible fine. The length of the sentence and the amount of the fine vary from state to state. Establishments from which individuals have been removed for gaining unlawful entry with the intent to commit a crime often also impose a no trespassing order on those individuals, which makes it illegal for them ever to enter the establishment again. If individuals enter an establishment in which a no trespassing order has been enacted against them with the intent to commit a crime, they are not only guilty of burglary in the third degree but of trespassing as well.Learn more about Crime
According to Nolo's CriminalDefenseLawyer.com, class A misdemeanors in Missouri include possession of marijuana up to 35 grams, shoplifting less than $500, domestic assault of the third degree and false imprisonment. Class A misdemeanors are considered the most serious category of Classes A through C. The penalty is a fine up to $1,000, up to one year in jail or both.Full Answer >
First degree burglary is defined as forcibly breaking and entering into someone's home, while persons are in the home, with the sole intent of committing a crime, as stated by attorney Adam R. Banner. The offender forcibly gains entry by breaking a door, window, wall, locks or bolts.Full Answer >
Second degree burglary is a criminal charge often considered a lesser charge than first degree burglary. However, the exact requirements and sentences for second degree burglary vary based on individual state laws.Full Answer >
As of 2014 in California, first-degree burglary occurs at residences and second-degree burglary happens at commercial establishments where people do not live, according to Shouse California Law Group. Penalties for first-degree burglary are more than those of second-degree burglary, although laws change depending on state statutes, notes FindLaw.Full Answer >