Grand larceny in the third degree is a serious theft charge that may, according to LegalMatch, also be called grand theft of the third degree depending on the jurisdiction. Each state decides how much stolen money, goods or property is necessary to qualify for this charge, but it commonly entails thousands of dollars. Most jurisdictions throughout the United States consider grand larceny in any degree a felony offense.Know More
Maximum and minimum amounts of stolen money or property, as they constitute grand larceny in the third degree, differ by state. New York, for example, applies the charge to theft of money or property falling between $3,000 and $50,000. In Florida, it is between $300 and $20,000. In some states, theft of certain items find crossover with a grand larceny in the third degree charge. In New York, thefts involving ATM machines or their contents invoke this charge. In Florida, firearms or motor vehicle theft apply. According to LegalMatch, grand larceny in the third degree is also frequently associated with white collar crimes like embezzlement.
As qualifications differ, so too do penalties for offenders. On his website, criminal trial lawyer Richard Hornsby notes that Florida imposes possible incarceration of up to five years and/or a fine of $5,000. Depending on circumstance, the judge reserves the right to apply jail time or fines in isolation as she deems fit.Learn more about Crime
The difference between larceny and theft is that larceny is the wrongful taking of tangible property while theft includes the theft and use of intellectual and intangible property. Both acts are considered crimes and are punishable by law in all states.Full Answer >
According to Nolo's CriminalDefenseLawyer.com, class A misdemeanors in Missouri include possession of marijuana up to 35 grams, shoplifting less than $500, domestic assault of the third degree and false imprisonment. Class A misdemeanors are considered the most serious category of Classes A through C. The penalty is a fine up to $1,000, up to one year in jail or both.Full Answer >
Sentences for credit card fraud vary based on jurisdiction and the value of the fraudulent charges. Some states punish felony fraud with up to a $25,000 fine and 15 years in prison. Misdemeanor fraud is punished at up to a $1,500 fine and one year in jail.Full Answer >
According to Womenslaw.org, third-degree battery occurs when a person causes intentional physical injury to a family or household member, causes physical injuries through recklessness or neglect, possibly by using a lethal weapon, or purposefully causes mental impairment or physical injury through administering drugs or other such substance without the consent of the household or family member. Battery is defined as the intentional striking or injuring of a victim, causing the other person harm without the consent.Full Answer >