What are the three levels of government?


The three levels of government are local, state and federal. Local governments govern counties, cities and towns. State governments rule over states, and the federal government rules the country as a whole.

A local city government may be led by an elected mayor or a board of supervisors. It provides police and fire protection services and sanitation.

State and federal governments are typically divided into three branches: executive, legislative and judicial. The executive is the governor or the president who is charged with enforcing the laws passed by the legislative branch. The judicial branch adjudicates legal disputes and judges whether a law is in accordance with the state or federal constitution.


  1. whitehouse.gov

Is this answer helpful?

Similar Questions