In the case of unwed parents, Florida law designates the mother as the natural custodian of a minor child, and she has sole legal rights over the child until paternity is established. She also has the right to obtain child support from the biological father, according to Kramer Law Firm.Know More
The courts of Florida favor "shared parenting" when both parents are of sound mind and willing to be involved in the lives of their children. However, emotions and conflict often come into play, and the father may disregard court orders or find means to obstruct the legal rights of the mother. It is imperative in these cases the mother seek experienced legal counsel, explains Kramer Law Firm.
The mother has the right to establish paternity on the child's behalf. If she files a paternity suit against the father, the Florida court uses DNA testing or blood tests to establish paternity. Then, the mother can take steps to obtain child support and the sharing of parental responsibilities. A father without legal paternity has no legal obligation to pay child support, notes Kramer Law Firm. Florida adheres to child support guidelines and calculates amounts based on truthful reporting of income by both parents. If the mother suspects the father is lying about his income, she should consult a lawyer.Learn more about Law
Child custody laws for unmarried parents in North Carolina do not automatically recognize equal standing for a mother and father until paternity is legally established, says Sodoma Law. Unlike with married couples, a father in North Carolina has no legal custody rights even if his name appears on a birth certificate.Full Answer >
Texas law deems child custody as a conservatorship, which means a parent is referred to as a conservator instead of a custodian, according to FindLaw. Texas law stipulates that a judge must determine the terms of a conservatorship unless both parents agree on a custody plan in writing.Full Answer >
To apply for a Florida hardship driver’s license, visit the Florida Administrative Reviews Office, select the county of residence, and click on the link Under Suspension – Need Driver License for Work link, states DMV.org. Take the necessary test, enroll in a driver course and pay all related fees.Full Answer >
A first degree felony in Florida is a crime that is punishable by more than one year, up to 30 years imprisonment, 30 years in the department of corrections or a fine of $10,000. The common first degree felonies include burglary with battery and assault, trafficking of controlled substances, lascivious or lewd battery, kidnapping, exploiting the elderly an amount of $100,000 or more, child molestation and sexual battery.Full Answer >