A Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia is the highest of the misdemeanor classifications in that state. It is punishable by up to 12 months in jail, as opposed to prison, and subjects the offender to a fine of up to $2,500.Know More
Class 1 misdemeanors constitute the most common misdemeanors in the state of Virginia. As of 2015, some examples of these offenses include possession of marijuana, petty larceny, stalking and writing bad checks. Several driving offenses are classified as Class 1 misdemeanors, including driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, driving with a suspended license and reckless driving.
Any jail sentence received for commission of a Class 1 misdemeanor is generally spent in a county facility managed by a local sheriff's department. The sentencing judge typically has discretion as to the length of the jail sentence to be served, up to the one-year maximum, and all or part of the sentence may be suspended.
A Class 1 misdemeanor may be expunged from a defendant's record if he is acquitted and has no prior criminal record. An exception to this is when the commonwealth attorney can show good cause as to why the petition for expungement should not be granted.
Class 1 misdemeanors are categorized as being lesser offenses than the six classes of felonies under Virginia law.Learn more about Crime
According to the Utah State Courts, a Class B misdemeanor includes charges of assault, resisting arrest, DUI, reckless driving, possession of marijuana under 1 ounce, drug paraphernalia, shoplifting (under $300), trespass of a dwelling and public nuisance. Concealed weapon violations and numerous traffic offenses are also Class B misdemeanors.Full Answer >
A class C misdemeanor can vary in definition depending on a state's particular laws, but in general this type of offense is used to categorize petty crimes such as shoplifting. Additionally, a class C misdemeanor usually results in a fine or jail time of less than 1 year.Full Answer >
According to Nolo's CriminalDefenseLawyer.com, class A misdemeanors in Missouri include possession of marijuana up to 35 grams, shoplifting less than $500, domestic assault of the third degree and false imprisonment. Class A misdemeanors are considered the most serious category of Classes A through C. The penalty is a fine up to $1,000, up to one year in jail or both.Full Answer >
According to Nolo, a Class A misdemeanor in Wisconsin involves the theft of goods or services that carry a value of no more than $2,500. A misdemeanor is a petty or minor offence against society. A few examples of other misdemeanors include public intoxication, vandalism and trespassing.Full Answer >