In Virginia, a class U felony is a felony that is unclassified. This type of felony charge is for offenses that don't fall neatly under the first six official felony classes. A defendant may be charged with an unclassified felony for crimes such as grand larceny, robbery and rape. Some types of drug charges can also be considered unclassified. Fines and penalties under class U felonies vary.Know More
Some instances of marijuana possession in the state of Virginia are considered unclassified felonies. Virginia law specifies that a person in possession of over 5 pounds of marijuana is committing an unclassified felony. As of 2014, growing marijuana in Virginia is an unclassified felony. If convicted on these charges, defendants may receive up to 30 years in prison. Likewise, possession of controlled substances classified as Schedule I or Schedule II is an unclassified felony in some situations. For instance, a class U charge can be levied if a person is caught manufacturing, distributing or selling Schedule I or II narcotics.
Under state drug laws as of 2014, unclassified felonies are handed out to defendants who are charged with a third or subsequent marijuana felony violation. The court also has the option of doling out a class U felony conviction as enhanced punishment for larger illegal drug quantities.Learn more about Crime
As of 2014, a Class C felony is the third-most serious class of felony, which is punishable by a maximum of seven years in prison. Class C felonies include crimes such as theft, possession of a controlled substance, second-degree statutory rape and first-degree involuntary manslaughter.Full Answer >
According to the law office of Ross G. Thomas, Class D felonies in Indiana cover crimes such as possession of more than 30 grams of marijuana or operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI). Theft and criminal confinement also fall under this classification. Class D felonies are the lowest level of misdemeanor offense.Full Answer >
A Class 4 felony in Illinois is any felony that can be punished by at least one year in state prison but no more than three. It is the lowest level of felony in the state.Full Answer >
A Class D felony in Missouri includes third-degree domestic assault, resisting arrest, fraud or passing a bad check, as noted by Criminal Defense Lawyer. A person convicted of a Class D felony may spend up to 7 years in prison.Full Answer >