Q:

Can pregnant women eat cheesecake?

A:

Quick Answer

Pregnant women can safely eat cheesecake as long as the cheese has been pasteurized. According to Bounty, baked cheesecake is safe to eat, but uncooked cheesecake is not.

Know More

Full Answer

The American Pregnancy Association recommends that pregnant women eat only pasteurized cheeses due to the risk of contracting a food-borne illness called listeriosis, which is very dangerous during pregnancy. This organization advises pregnant women to check the labels on all dairy products to find out whether or not the cheese has been pasteurized. According to the American Pregnancy Association, processed cream cheese is safe to eat, but unpasteurized soft cheeses, such as feta or blue cheese, are not.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Is it safe for pregnant women to eat mushrooms?

    A:

    According to the Vancouver Health News, eating cooked mushrooms during pregnancy is safe. While raw mushrooms, hallucinogenic mushrooms and toxic mushrooms are to be avoided throughout the entire duration of pregnancy, there is no reason not to eat cooked mushrooms. In fact, when properly prepared, mushrooms offer many health benefits.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Can pregnant women eat blue cheese?

    A:

    According to Mayo Clinic, pregnant women should avoid eating blue cheese. Blue cheese contains unpasteurized milk, which can cause foodborne illnesses. Other types of cheese containing unpasteurized milk include soft cheeses such as brie and feta.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Can pregnant women eat calamari?

    A:

    According to the American Pregnancy Association, FDA guidelines state that pregnant women can safely eat two 6-ounce servings of calamari a week. Squid is not considered a high-risk food for pregnant women because it is low in mercury, unlike some other seafood.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Can vegetarians eat cheese?

    A:

    Vegetarians can eat cheese, because dairy products are included in a vegetarian diet. A vegan diet, however, is more restrictive and does not allow animal products, such as cheese or eggs. According to the New York Times, 7.3 million Americans consider themselves to be vegetarian.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore