Q:

Can vegetarians eat gelatin?

A:

Quick Answer

According to People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals, or PETA, gelatin is not a vegetarian food source. It is produced by boiling the skin, tendons, ligaments or bones of animals. Vegetarians do not eat animal meat, and vegans abstain from eating eggs, dairy and other animal-derivatives.

Know More
Can vegetarians eat gelatin?
Credit: Glow Cuisine Glow Getty Images

Full Answer

Gelatin is not derived from animals, such as eggs and dairy products are, but it is derived from parts of an animal, so it cannot be considered a vegetarian food. Vegetarians can consume gelatin alternatives, including many types of kosher gelatin. PETA explains that agar-agar and carrageen are alternative gelling agents, which are derived from different types of seaweed. Agar-agar can be used to make firm gels in an hour; whereas, carrageen can be boiled for 10 minutes and used in softer gels and puddings.

Learn more about Nutrition & Diets

Related Questions

  • Q:

    Are vegetarians healthier than meat eaters?

    A:

    Scientific studies reported in 2011 and 2013 conclude that vegetarians enjoy a lowered risk of many diseases, including heart disease, diabetes, and prostate cancer, according to Medical News Today. Vegetarians also generally have a lower BMI (body mass index) and lower blood pressure.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Is the paleo diet good for everyone?

    A:

    No, the paleo diet is not good for everyone; it is a highly restrictive diet that requires the consumption of a lot of meat, which is unacceptable for vegetarians and vegans and not such a good idea for individuals who already have high cholesterol. The people who successfully follow the paleo diet may feel good about their choices, and the diet may indeed work for them, but in general, experts seem to agree that the paleo diet is not a good diet option for most people. The paleo diet has been criticized for being based on faulty assumptions and inadequate research.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What do squirrels eat and drink?

    A:

    Squirrels are vegetarians, known to eat a wide variety of nuts, fruits and other vegetarian foods, but flying squirrels have been known to eat small birds, insects and eggs. Among some foods squirrels have been known to eat are various kinds of nuts, seeds and various fruits.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What food did the Incas eat?

    A:

    The Incas were primarily vegetarians who subsisted primarily off of root vegetables. The different altitudes and temperatures throughout the Inca territories caused regional differences in diet. Meat came from llamas and alpacas, while the very poor ate guinea pigs. More recently, quinoa, a staple of the Incas' diet, has been named a superfood, along with pichuberries, amaranth and purple potatoes.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore