Q:

What foods should a person eat if he or she has a fatty liver?

A:

Quick Answer

People with fatty liver are often advised to cut out alcohol, eat plenty of vegetables and fruits, avoid saturated fats and refined sugars, usually found in cakes, chocolates and biscuits, and eat slow-released starchy food like potatoes and whole wheat bread, according to British Liver Trust. It is also advisable for patients with fatty liver to exercise regularly and reduce weight to a healthy level in accordance with their height, age and build.

Know More

Full Answer

For people who are diabetic and have fatty liver, it is important to consult with their physician to keep their blood sugar level under control. Also, cutting out fat should be their first priority. Avoid butter, lard, margarine, mayonnaise, meat drippings, cheese, cream, cooking oils, sausages, fatty meats, chips, nuts, pies and processed foods.

Learn More

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What foods should you avoid when taking warfarin?

    A:

    Consuming large amounts of kale, spinach, Brussels sprouts and parsley is not advised during warfarin treatment, states WebMD. Because they contain high levels of vitamin K, these foods decrease the effectiveness of warfarin. Avocados, alcohol, margarine, mayonnaise and grapefruit juice should also be avoided, states Indiana Hemophilia & Thrombosis Center.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What foods are good for your liver?

    A:

    Fibrous foods, such as fruits, vegetables and whole grains, keep the liver functioning properly. More water to stay hydrated and a lowered salt intake promote a healthy liver by reducing fluid retention and swelling.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What foods can vegetarians not eat?

    A:

    Vegetarians abstain from eating any animal flesh, including meat, poultry and fish, according to the Vegetarian Resource Group. Those who refuse to use or consume any animal products or by-products are known as vegans.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are lactose-free foods?

    A:

    Lactose-free foods are those that have no lactose, a sugar most commonly found in dairy products, according to Drugs.com. Common lactose-free foods include meats, eggs, nuts, fats, tofu, vegetables and fruits. Other items such as French or Italian breads, broths, sorbets and pastas are typically made without the use of lactose-containing products. Rice, whole grains and some cereals are also lactose free.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore