Q:

Can you use the same word twice in a single game of Scrabble?

A:

A single word as many times as possible during a game of Scrabble. As long as every word the tiles touch is a dictionary word, the word is allowed.

There are not many rules as to what words can be used as long as they abide by the following:

  • No words that are always capitalized are allowed. These include the names of people, places, and brands.
  • No abbreviations are allowed.
  • No words that require hyphens or apostrophes are allowed.
  • Finally, no prefixes or suffixes on their own are allowed.

If the player cannot make words with existing tiles, that person can swap some or all of his tiles by placing them face-down on the table and choose more from the pool of tiles. After the player has chosen more, he then returns the tiles back to the pool.

Sources:

  1. hasbro.com

Is this answer helpful?

Similar Questions

Explore