What is a polygon called where all sides are congruent?


A polygon that has all sides congruent is called a "regular polygon." Regular polygons must also have all angles congruent, which is a side effect of having congruent sides. For instance, a square must always have four 90-degree angles because of its four congruent sides.

A regular polygon may have any number of sides, as long as its sides and angles are all congruent. Common examples include five-sided pentagons, six-sided hexagons, seven-sided heptagons, eight-sided octagons and nine-sided nonagons. It is possible for any of these polygons to be irregular if they have the same number of sides but in different sizes.

Is this answer helpful?

Similar Questions