How many flags are on the moon?


Six flags were planted on the Moon by Apollo astronauts, but not all of them may still be standing, as of 2014. Apollo 11's flag was most likely knocked over by the rocket blast of the returning lunar module.

The Apollo program lasted between 1961 and 1975 and resulted in six successful manned missions to the Moon. Flags were planted by the Apollo astronauts at the site of each landing and, decades later, all but the Apollo 11 flag are still standing, as of 2014. The flags are thought to have been bleached of all color from constant unprotected exposure to the Sun's ultraviolet rays.

Q&A Related to "How many flags are on the moon?"
There should be six United States flags for each Apollo mission on the moon. Are the flags still there? That's a good question, maybe they were confirmed on each Apollo mission.
As of now, there is only one flag, the good ol' stars and stripes.
I called the NASA History Office and it turns out that six flags were placed on the
On June 14, 1777 in the city of Philadelphia, this resolution was adopted by the Marine Committee of the Second Continental Congress: "Resolved, that the flag of the United States
Explore this Topic
We know there are six U.S. flags on the moon. They were left by Apollo astronauts from Apollo 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, and 17. We know there was also at least one ...
The countries who have put flags on the moon include the United States, the former Soviet Union, China, and Japan. The European Space Agency, which is comprised ...
The American flag has 50 stars and 13 stripes on the United States of Americas Flag. The fifty stars on the flag represent the fifty current U.S. states. The thirteen ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014