What Are the Names of the Seven Seas?


Today the Earth's largest bodies of water are mainly divided up into the 4 oceans. In ancient times they were divided up into the 7 seas which were the Red Sea, Indian Ocean, Mediterranean Sea, Persian Gulf, Black Sea, Adriatic Sea, and Caspian Sea. You can find more information here: http://www. whoi. edu/info/seven-seas. html
Q&A Related to "What Are the Names of the Seven Seas"
In looking over the answeres previously listed, I've come to the conclusion that no one really knows what seas made up the 7 ancient seas. So looking at a modern day map here is my
They are the Arctic, Antarctic, North and South Atlantic, North and the South Pacific,
The Oxford Dictionary defines the seven seas as "Arctic, Antarctic, North Pacific, South Pacific, North Atlantic, South Atlantic, and Indian Oceans" (see. http://oxforddictionaries.com
After the Europeans discovered America, some people used the term Seven Seas to refer to seven of the biggest bodies of water in the world: The Arctic Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, the
1 Additional Answer
Ask.com Answer for: What Are the Names of the Seven Seas
The phrase "The Seven Seas" is a figure of speech and has been used to refer to different bodies of water at various times and places.
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2015 Ask.com