Can vegetarians eat cheese?


Vegetarians can eat cheese, because dairy products are included in a vegetarian diet. A vegan diet, however, is more restrictive and does not allow animal products, such as cheese or eggs. According to the New York Times, 7.3 million Americans consider themselves to be vegetarian.

A vegetarian diet has been found to have health benefits. According to ABC News, vegetarians have a 32 percent lower risk of heart disease than non-vegetarians. A meatless diet is heart healthy because it is usually lower in saturated fat and sodium, compared to a diet that includes meat. Consuming saturated fat can lead to high cholesterol, and excess sodium can cause high blood pressure.

Q&A Related to "Can vegetarians eat cheese?"
1. Learn Portuguese phrases. Visit the International Vegetarian Union website where you can find useful vegetarian phrases in Portuguese. Commit the phrases to memory, or jot them
Because they are lacto-vegetarians. People become vegetarians for many different reasons, besides animal rights.
Cheese is vegetarian if it does not use animal rennet. There are vegan cheese substitutes as well, but they are not technically "cheese" Cheese in general is made with milk
1 Instead of using the standard food pyramid, using a vegetarian food pyramid may be helpful . This food pyramid outlines various food groups and food choices that help form the foundation
Explore this Topic
Lacto vegetarian is a term used to describe an individual who does not eat eggs, but is able to eat dairy products, such as milk, yoghurt, butter and cheese. They ...
Vegetarians are allowed to eat vegetables, fruits, grains, pastas, legumes, nuts and seeds, bread, crackers and condiments among others. A vegetarian is someone ...
Ovo vegetarians are individuals who do not eat any meat or dairy products, but only eggs. A number of people today are ovo-vegetarians mainly, because they are ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014