Do marshmallows have pork in them?

Answer

Most commercially available marshmallows contain gelatin, which is a jelly-like substance derived from the collagen of the bones of many animals including fish, cattle and pigs. While much gelatin is derived from the bones of pigs, no meat is present in the sweet marshmallow product.

Commercially made marshmallows are an evolution of the original pink-flowered Althaea officinalis mallow plant, an edible plant popular among the ancient Egyptians and often used as a remedy for a number of maladies. Modern marshmallows are made primarily from sugar, egg whites and gelatin derived from the collagen of a number of animals, the latter of which acts as a binding agent. Marshmallows are popular and are eaten on their own as well as serving as the base for a number of treats including s'mores and Marshmallow Peeps.

Reference:
Q&A Related to "Do marshmallows have pork in them?"
Cigarettes have an alkaloid in them called nicotine that is highly addictive. And that doesn't even scratch the surface if you count the almost six hundred other additives. You can
http://www.ask.com/web-answers/Health/Addictions/w...
One of the oldest forms of group entertainment, the singalong is as funny or as formal as you want it to be. Songs that you remember from your own childhood readily become entertainment
http://www.ehow.com/info_8264813_activities-do-hav...
Mallows (Mallow Bars)
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_kind_of_candy_have_...
There are no brands of marshmallows that don't use pork gelatin.
http://www.chacha.com/question/what-marshmallow-br...
Explore this Topic
Marshmallows Pork Gelatin are pork products mad with gelatine. Examples of marshmallow brands without pork gelatine are skin which is commonly used as a gelling ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com