Does gelatin contain pork?

Answer

Gelatin may contain pork. Pork and beef are both common ingredients in gelatin. In order to determine which has been used, the ingredient list should be consulted.

Gelatin, particularly kosher gelatin, is usually made with fish, since pork is forbidden in the kosher diet. Vegan gelatin is made from seaweed, since no meat or animal products of any kind are eaten in the vegan lifestyle.

Gelatin is used for multiple purposes. Aside from foods, it is an agent commonly found in health and beauty products. Gelatin is also the primary component of the outside of pill capsules and is what makes them dissolve when they are penetrated by moisture.

Reference:
Q&A Related to "Does gelatin contain pork?"
Gelatin is a protein substance derived from collagen, a natural protein present in the tendons, ligaments, and tissues of mammals.
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_does_gelatin_contai...
The gelatin you eat in Jell-O comes from the collagen in cow or pig...
http://www.chacha.com/question/what-does-gelatin-c...
Candy and other sweets are mostly made out of a gelatine obtained from apples. It is called pectin.
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=201308...
Lean cuts of pork (EMPHASIS IS ON LEAN YOU HAVE TO CUT THE FAT OFF) are high in protein, low in fat and have more B-vitamins (thiamine, niacin, B6 and B12) than many other types of
http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=201...
Explore this Topic
Marshmallows Pork Gelatin are pork products mad with gelatine. Examples of marshmallow brands without pork gelatine are skin which is commonly used as a gelling ...
Starburst candy does not contain pork. The candy does contain gelatin which may be derived from animal bones. ...
Gelatin typically does not contain gluten. Gluten is normally found in grain-based products, whereas gelatin is mostly sugar, corn syrup, water and food coloring ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com