How many justices serve on the Supreme Court?


Nine judges, called justices, form the United States Supreme Court. One of the justices serves as the chief justice, while the remaining eight serve as associate justices. The nine current Supreme Court justices include Chief Justice John G. Roberts Jr., Antonin Scalia, Anthony M. Kennedy, Clarence Thomas, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Stephen G. Breyer, Samuel Anthony Alito Jr., Sonia Sotomayor and Elena Kagan.

The president nominates candidates to the Supreme Court, but the Congress must approve all nominations. Once approved, justices serve lifetime terms. Many Supreme Court justices serve for decades, although the average tenure of the 112 current and former justices is 16 years. Chief Justice John Marshall was the longest serving justice, remaining on the bench for more than 34 years. Justices have ranged between 44 and 68 years of age at the time of their appointment.

The Supreme Court’s purpose is to interpret the Constitution, and the court has been involved in deciding several cases with far-reaching implications. Among the most important rulings issued by the court were the 1966 ruling in Miranda v. Arizona, which established the need for law enforcement to advise arrested citizens of their rights, and the 1973 ruling in Roe v. Wade, which legalized abortion.

Q&A Related to "How many justices serve on the Supreme Court?"
The number has changed several times of the history of our nation, but there are currently nine Supreme Court justices.When a vacancy occurs, the President selects a Supreme Court
There are 5 Wyoming Supreme Court Justices.
There are seven justices on the Iowa Supreme Court. They are led by
A Supreme Court justice is nominated by the president and must be approved by a majority vote in the U.S. Senate. The process gives the executive and legislative branches power over
1 Additional Answer Answer for: how many justices serve on the supreme court
The Supreme Court consists of nine judges, also called justices. One serves as the Chief Justice.
Explore this Topic
A supreme court justice can serve for the remainder of their lives as long as they hold their offices with good behavior. The supreme court justices can resign ...
There are nine total supreme court justices. There is one head judge or chief justice and eight associate justices in total. ...
The supreme court comprises of 9 justices. Their job is to protect the right of citizens. When an unconstitutional bill passes congress and is signed by the President ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014