How many King Georges of England were there?


As of 2014, there have been six King Georges of England. King George VI reigned from 1936 to 1952, and Queen Elizabeth II, the current British monarch as of 2014, ascended the throne upon his death. King George VI became king when his brother Edward VIII abdicated the throne.

According to, King George I ruled from 1714 until 1727, while King George II ruled from 1727 until 1760. King George III ruled from 1760 through 1820, King George IV held the throne from 1820 until 1830, and King George V ruled from 1910 until 1936.

King George VI married Lady Elizabeth Bowes-Lyon in 1923, and they had two daughters, Elizabeth and Margaret. As king, he is noted for helping get Britain through World War II. He died at 56 after a lung operation on Feb. 6, 1952, at Sandringham.

Q&A Related to "How many King Georges of England were there?"
I think about 3.
There have been 66 monarchs in England and Britain spread over
1) The Romans certainly came as an invading army and won. In time the natives became integrated into Roman ways, but there was never any doubt about who was in control. 2) The Angles
52 Kings of England from Alfred the Great to George VI. Present Monarch is Elizabeth II.
Explore this Topic
Currently, there is no king in England because the previous king, King George VI, did not have any sons. Upon his death in 1952, Princess Elizabeth, who at the ...
The king of England during World War One was King George v. His full name was George Frederick Ernest Albert and reigned for nearly 26 years after been crowned ...
There have been two kings of Britain as a whole named Charles. There was no pre-Norman Kings with that name. ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014