How many orbitals are in each sublevel?


Each sublevel has differing numbers of orbitals. Sublevels are designated with lower-case letters. Sublevel s contains one orbital, p contains three, d has five, f has seven, g has nine, h has 11 and i has 13.

The periodic table of elements contains seven rows; therefore, elements can have up to seven energy levels, depending on how many electrons the element possess. Electrons travel around the atom in orbitals. Each orbital houses a maximum of two electrons.

With each subsequent energy level, another sublevel is added. Energy level one contains only one sublevel, the s with its one orbital. Energy level 2 contains s and p sublevels, so this energy level has a total of four orbitals. Energy level 3 has s, p and d sublevels; therefore, this energy level has a total of nine orbitals.

Q&A Related to "How many orbitals are in each sublevel?"
Ok, well you have 4 sublevels. S, P, D, F (I remember them by some people drink Fanta- lol. *an inside joke* S-1. P-3. D-5. F-7. Hope this helps! :
The second main energy level contains a 2s and 2p
Don't die yet for such a simple question. Look at your periodic table and locate the p orbitals and count them. All the p orbitals can have a maximum of 6 electrons. Do the same for
There are at least one thousand functioning, artificially made satellites floating around in orbit in space today. This is because many countriese have placed them in space for various
Explore this Topic
There are many sublevels in each energy level for example 1st level only has an s-orbital. The 2nd level has an s-orbital and a p-orbital , 3rd level has s-, p ...
There are a different number of electrons in each energy level. The first orbital only has 2 electrons, and the ones after that each hold 8. ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014