How Many Presidents have Resigned from Office?


There is only one President in the history of the United States that resigned office. Richard M. Nixon resigned from office on August 9, 1974 while facing likely impeachment.
Q&A Related to "How Many Presidents have Resigned from Office?"
Richard Nixon. (37th President, 1969-1974) was the only President to date to resign from office. He did so because of pending impeachment proceedings against him, following Congressional
On August 8, 1974, Richard Nixon resigned as the 37th President of the US after
Just one: Richard Nixon. While many people cite Nixon in the list of impeached presidents, it is a misnomer. During the Watergate scandal, the House Committee on the Judiciary approved
1. Contact the other officers informally to let them know that you will be resigning. You don't need to explain why, but you can if you want to. You want to give them as much notice
1 Additional Answer
Richard Nixon is the only president to resign from office. He resigned on August 9, 1974. He did it because of loss of political support and that he was sure he was going to be impeached because of the Watergate scandal.
Explore this Topic
The first American president to resign from office was Richard Nixon. He announced his exit in the face of a looming impeachment trial over the Watergate affair. ...
As of October 2011, there have been 43 different men to hold the office of the President of the United States. Barack Obama is the 43rd man. ...
A supreme court justice can serve for the remainder of their lives as long as they hold their offices with good behavior. The supreme court justices can resign ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014