How many senators are elected every two years?

Answer Answer for: how many senators are elected every two years
Senators serve terms of six years each; the terms are staggered so that approximately one-third of the seats are up for election every two years (roughly 33 or 34 senators every two years).
Q&A Related to "How many senators are elected every two years?"
The Senate is elected every 6 years and the Senate is divided into classes so a third is up for election at any one time. Only the House has a 2 year term.
Senators are elected to a six year term. They are not limited in the number of terms they can serve, as long as they are reelected each time.
About one-third of the one hundred Senators are elected every two
Senators have a term of 6 years, so every 2 years about 1/3 of all senators are up for re-election.
1 Additional Answer

The Senate and the 435-member House of Representatives combine to form the U.S. Congress, the legislative branch of the government responsible for making laws. While the number of House members varies from state to state and is based on population, there is always a fixed number of two Senators in each of the 50 states, regardless of the size of each state.

Explore this Topic
We elect a US senator for six years. When the election for the senator occurs depends on what year they were elected, so someone elected in 2012 would be up for ...
The term of office for a Senator is six years. Elections to fill those Senate seats usually coincide every two years with elections for all members of the House ...
Each state elects two Senators to serve in the United States Congress. The Constitution mandates the equal number of Senators per state in Article 1, section 3 ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014