According to Florida state law, a notary public may not charge more than $20 for solemnizing a marriage. The notary may charge separately for other services offered, including travel to the wedding site or reserving rooms.
The notary may also charge up to $10 for a single standard notarial act, such as witnessing the signing of the marriage license. Before sending an invoice to the bride and groom, the notary should discuss all extra charges beyond the notarial fee.
As of June 2014, Florida is one of only three states that allow notaries to officiate weddings. The other two are South Carolina and Maine.