Is dextrose gluten-free?

Answer

Dextrose is gluten-free. Even if dextrose is made from wheat, the high level of hydrolysation that occurs during production leaves no gluten within the sugars. This means that people with celiac disease can consume dextrose.

Celiac disease, a common autoimmune condition, causes the body's immune system to identify substances in gluten as harmful and thus attacks the substances, which results in damage to the surface of the intestines. The damage from the body's attack on these substances can cause malnutrition, as the intestines are less able to absorb nutrients from digested food. Other symptoms of celiac disease include weight loss, diarrhea, abdominal pain, bloating and flatulence.

Q&A Related to "Is dextrose gluten-free?"
Dextrose is a form of sugar, and in the US is commonly made from corn. It can also be made from rice, and from wheat. It is best to call the manufacturer to be certain what their
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_dextrose_and_is_...
People that have an intolerance to gluten are known to have Celiac Disease. This disease only affects a small amount of people. Gluten free foods include certain brands of chicken
http://www.ask.com/web-answers/Food_and_Drinks/Oth...
Gluten is a protein naturally found in many grains and most processed food products sold in America contain gluten in one form or another, making the removal of gluten from the American
http://www.life123.com/food/vegetarian-vegan/glute...
Gluten is a mixture of plant proteins found in wheat, barley, rye, and oats. Wheat, barley and rye are made into flour. Any flour made from these grains contain the gluten proteins.
http://www.ehow.com/about_4675201_what-gluten-free...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com