Is Kosher Gelatin Vegetarian?

Answer

Kosher gelatin is considered to be vegan. Regular gelatin is not. Gelatin is made by boiling animal bones as well as the ligaments, skin, and tissues. Many people who are vegetarian will not eat certain types of candy bars or foods that is prepared with or made by normal gelatin. There are other alternatives that can be used such as agar-agar. Other substitutions can be used as well that give the same effect but is not made out of animal by-products.
Reference:
1 Additional Answer
It depends. Kosher gelatin can still contain beef products. Some kosher gelatin is made from carob beans, xantham gum, agar-agar, and other non-animal products. You'll have to check the ingredients.
Q&A Related to "Is Kosher Gelatin Vegetarian?"
Kosher gelatin can be made with fish bones, or beef skins. Some are made with agar-agar, and some are not. It can also be used in dairy products. It can have animal products, such
http://answers.ask.com/Food_and_Drinks/Food_and_Co...
Most gelatin comes from the bones of cattle, but there are other sources of gelatin and each is considered separately for labeling purposes. If a gelatin comes from a source that
http://www.ehow.com/about_4617146_kosher-gelatin_....
Beef gelatine is certainly kosher, if it is made from kosher cows, i.e. ones that were slaughtered properly and whose internal organs showed no sign of disease or injury. The only
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Why_is_beef_gelatine_not...
1
http://www.wikihow.com/Find-Gelatin-Substitutes-fo...
Explore this Topic
Kosher Gelatin must come from a vegetarian source or be produced in a specific way. Kosher gelatin can be made with fish bones, and/or beef skins. This type of ...
Gelatin is made by boiling the bones of animals. A vegan gelatin recipe that fits in with the vegetarian diet can be made at home. To make this vegan gelatin you ...
Vegetarians can not eat gelatine knowingly since it is an animal product. Gelatine is made from collagen, natural occurring animal protein, which is mainly inside ...
About -  Privacy -  AskEraser  -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback © 2014 Ask.com