Are The Bahamas a U.S. territory?


The Bahamas are not a U.S. territory. The Bahamas are an independent nation of 700 islands located in the Atlantic Ocean around 50 miles south of Florida.

The Bahamas were a territory of the United Kingdom until 1973, when they were granted independence by the British. The country remains part of the British Commonwealth of Nations and recognizes the British monarch as the head of state. The official language of the Bahamas is English, and many citizens speak a Bahamian dialect.

The majority of people live on New Providence Island, the eleventh largest island of the Bahamas. The capital city, Nassau, is located here. The country's largest island is Andros Island. This island is also one of the most sparsely populated of the inhabited islands of the Bahamas. Tourism is a large portion of the country's economy, with many people visiting to experience its beaches, warm climate and outdoor activities.

Q&A Related to "Are The Bahamas a U.S. territory?"
There are 14 areas that are part of U.S. territories. The major ones are Guam, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, U.S. Virgin Islands and Northern Mariana Islands.
If the Bahamas are not US territory, then what territory is it?
1. Contact the Embassy of the Commonwealth of the Bahamas in Washington. Inquire about the custom requirements for exported goods to Bahamas. Bahamas does not fall in the current
The Bahamas are a sovereign nation, so they are in their own territory, the
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014