What are parts of speech?


Parts of speech are a category of words that are used in grammar. These words strive to explain how the words are used. They are classified in eight categories; nouns, verbs, pronouns, adjectives, adverbs, conjunctions, prepositions and interjections.
3 Additional Answers
Ask.com Answer for: what are parts of speech
The traditional 8 parts of speech are: Verbs, Nouns, Adjectives, Adverbs, Pronouns, Prepositions, Conjunctions and Interjections.
Some people categorize the parts of speech into 9 or 10, treating Determiners (like 'the') as a separate category, and breaking Verbs into 2 types: Lexical (work, like, run) or Auxiliary (be, have, must).
Some of the parts of speech include a noun, verb, adjective, adverb, pronoun, conjunction, preposition, interjection, and an article. A speech is the expression of or the aptitude to express thoughts and feelings by eloquent sounds.
Parts of speech are the categories into which words are classified. These categories are the pronoun, the adjective, the verb, the noun, the preposition, the adverb, the conjunction and the interjection. They form the basis on which grammar is based.
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com