What Are the Countries in Antarctica?


There are no countries in the continent of Antarctica but as it is, there are countries which have the scientific research stations there and an example is the New Zealand. Countries that are claiming territories in the area include Norway, Argentina and France.
2 Additional Answers
A country in Antarctica would refer to a jurisdiction or country in Antarctica, of which there is none since it is a continent and practically uninhabitable. There is no country or nation that owns Antarctica although several nations do claim pie-shaped slices of the continent.
There are no countries, cities or villages in Antarctica since 98% of this region is covered by ice. It is the coldest region on the planet and some of the countries that are close to it are South Africa, Australia, Chile, Argentina and New Zealand.
Explore this Topic
According to the Central Intelligence Agency's World Factbook, seven countries have a claim on Antarctica: Argentina, Australia, Chile, France, New Zealand, Norway ...
There is no official currency of Antarctica. Antarctica is not a country, so it does not have the government structure necessary to issue money. Antarctic outposts ...
Antarctica does not have a capital, for it is not an independent country. Many countries have territorial claims on the continent, but few of them even have cities.New ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com