What Are the Three Layers of Soil?


The three layers of soil are: top soil, sub soil and parent material. Typically, soil is made of horizons and the major horizons are O, A, B and C. Each of these horizons is a layer of soil that has a different composition of materials.
Q&A Related to "What Are the Three Layers of Soil?"
Topsoil, then subsoil, then bedrock. Don't blame me, i'm just a person.
Subsoil is lighter in color because it contains a lower amount of humus or organic material than topsoil. Unlike topsoil, subsoil is packed tightly and has less space to retain water
they live in rachin soil.
Soil erosion occurs when wind or running water removes soil from where it lay.
1 Additional Answer
Soil has 3 major layers or horizons. The top layer is known as topsoil or the surface horizon. The second layer is subsoil. The third layer is called the substratum, but some might also call it bedrock. You can find more information here: http://soils.usda.gov/education/resources/K_12/lessons/profile/
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com