What are the three major wind belts?


The three major wind belts, also known as circulations, are the Hadley cell, the Ferrel cell and the Polar cell. The circulation of these winds is caused by the rotation of the earth and the energy of the sun.

How these circulations move between the poles and the equator determines climate.

The Hadley cell covers latitudes from the equator to about 30 degrees. The air movement in this cell creates the subtropical jet stream, which flows from west to east.

The Ferrel cell covers latitudes from 30 to 60 degrees. The winds in this cell are prevailing westerlies at the Earth's surface.

The Polar cell covers latitudes above 60 degrees. At the poles, the air sinks and creates prevailing easterly winds.

Q&A Related to "What are the three major wind belts?"
trade winds , prevailing westerlies, polar westerlies,doldrums.
Phoenix, Arizona, the state capitol, is the fifth-largest city in America and the largest in the state. According to the city's tourism website, the average annual temperature is
i think it"z fish and aluminum.
Fotolia.com TransUnion, Experian and Equifax are the three major credit reporting bureaus in the United States. These agencies each gather a detailed credit history to determine a
Explore this Topic
There are three wind belts: Polar Easterlies, Prevailing Westerlies and Tropical Easterlies. They are regions on earth that have predicable air currents caused ...
Winds and currents follow the general patterns of the world's major wind belts. The patterns of the wind, in particular, usually start at the equator with the ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com