What Are the West Indies?


The West Indies refers to a series of islands found in the Caribbean. They are called the West Indies because when Christopher Columbia first discovered them, he thought he had reached the west of India.
4 Additional Answers
Ask.com Answer for: what are the west indies
West Indies
an archipelago in the N Atlantic between North and South America, comprising the Greater Antilles, the Lesser Antilles, and the Bahamas.
a former federation (1958–62) of the British islands in the Caribbean, comprising Barbados, Jamaica, Trinidad, Tobago, and the Windward and Leeward island colonies.
Source: Dictionary.com
West Indies refers to a group of islands that separate the Gulf of Mexico and the Caribbean Sea, the islands extend over more 3,200 km. West Indies consists of three main island groups namely the Bahamas, the Greater Antilles and the Lesser Antilles. The West Indies are better known for their world class cricket team.
The West Indies is a string of islands between North and South America and it is a popular resort area. This large group of islands separate the Caribbean Sea from the Atlantic Ocean.
The West Indies are a group of islands located in the Caribbean Sea. The Bahamas, the Lesser and Greater Antilles are all island groups in this region. You can find more information here: http://www.worldatlas.com/webimage/countrys/namerica/caribb/special/westind.htm
Q&A Related to "What Are the West Indies"
The West Indies is a region in the Caribbean Sea. The region consists of multiple islands in the area like the Antilles, Greater Antilles and Lesser Antilles.
1. Remove any dead or damaged wood from the tree, including wood damaged by disease or heavy insect infestation. Use pruning shears for small branches and the saw for larger ones.
Guyana,trinidad,Jamica,Tabago,Ghana,St kitts,St nevis, dominican repuplic,Antigen,barbuda,St lucia, Venezuela,Isla san Andes,Cuba,Puerto Rico,Costa Rica, Isla San Andres.
The islands of the West Indies that were formerly under British control, including Jamaica, Barbados, Trinidad, Grenada, Antigua, St. Lucia, and the Bahamas.
Explore this Topic
The West Indies are a group of islands in the Caribbean. They include the islands of Jamaica, Cuba, Bahamas, Trinidad & Tobago, Barbados among others. ...
The West Indies are called West Indies because Columbus had a mistaken impression that he’d arrived on or near the country of India and named the Islands ...
West Indies is located in North America continent. The West Indies is a large group of islands that separate the Caribbean Sea from the Atlantic Ocean. They comprise ...
About -  Privacy -  AskEraser  -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback © 2014 Ask.com