What Countries Make up the Balkans?


Balkan states are countries occupying the Balkan Peninsula in southern Europe. They include: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Serbia and Montenegro, Greece, Republic of Macedonia, Romania, Slovenia and Turkey.
1 Additional Answer
The countries that make up the Balkans today include Greece, Albania, Macedonia, Bulgaria, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro, European Turkey and Croatia. The term 'Balkans' is a geographical designation for the south-eastern peninsula of the European continent. Scholars sometimes define the Balkans as the region that was conquered and ruled by the Ottoman Turks for varying periods of time after 1300.
Explore this Topic
Balkanization is a term used to define the process where a country breaks up into smaller countries, such as when the U.S.S.R. fell and broke up into Russia, Georgia ...
Balkanization is the process of a country breaking up into several smaller countries. Examples of balkanization include the USSR breaking up into Russia, Lithuania ...
A list of Balkan countries include; Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia, Albania, Greece, Italy, Montenegro, Macedonia, Kosovo, Turkey, Romania, Bulgaria, and Bosnia and ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com