What currency is used in Dubai?


The unit of currency used in Dubai is the dirham. It is also the official unit of currency for the rest of the United Arab Emirates.

The dirham is divided into 100 fils. The standardized international abbreviation for the dirham is AED. Dh and Dhs are also popular abbreviations for the currency. The dirham was first adopted by the United Arab Emirates as its official currency in 1973. For the purposes of international exchange, the Central Bank of the United Arab Emirates has officially pegged the value of the dirham to the U.S. dollar since 1997. Prior to this, the dirham was pegged to the International Monetary Fund's special drawing rights, or SDRs.

Explore this Topic
Dubai?s national currency is the Arab Emirate Dirham; it is called the Dirham in short and is abbreviated as either Dhs. or Dh. The United Arab Emirates (UAE) ...
Dubai's currency is known as Dirham. Each currency is divided into 100 units and each of them is known as fil. The International Monetary Fund's Special Drawing ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com