What does "solar system" mean?


The term "solar system" refers to the sun and all the bodies that are caught in its gravitational field. This includes the eight planets, several dwarf planets, the moons and a variety of asteroids and comets.

The eight planets of the solar system in order of their distance to the sun are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. The three largest dwarf planets include Pluto, Eris and Ceres.

Pluto was originally classified as a ninth planet, but this changed in 2006 when the International Astronomical Union (IAU) stopped recognizing Pluto as a planet and downgraded it to a dwarf planet.

1 Additional Answer
Ask.com Answer for: what does solar system mean
solar system
the sun together with all the planets and other bodies that revolve around it.
a similar system with celestial bodies revolving around a star other than the sun.
Source: Dictionary.com
Explore this Topic
The star at the centre of the solar system is known as the sun. It is a dwarf star, meaning it is at the middle stage of its life and is thought to be over 4 and ...
A solar system is a system that houses planets, stars, moons, comets, asteroids, and other heavenly bodies. These objects are bound one star's gravitational pull ...
The planetary system, containing Earth, is officially named the "Solar System," which consists of the Sun and its orbiting objects. PlanetsOfTheSolarSystem.net ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com