What is a Class A misdemeanor in Texas?

Answer

LegalMatch says, "A Class A Misdemeanor is the most serious classification of misdemeanor charges in most states," including Texas. While not as serious as a felony, misdemeanors are punishable by up to a year in jail and carry fines of $500 to $5,000. Individuals convicted of a misdemeanor complete their jail time at a local facility, while felons often spend their jail time in a federal prison.

The circumstances surrounding a crime often determine the type of charges the district attorney files. Fighting in public is a misdemeanor filed as disorderly conduct; however, the Texas Attorney General's office says that displaying or discharging a firearm in public changes the charge to a Class B misdemeanor. Knowingly or recklessly inflicting bodily injury increases the crime to a Class A misdemeanor. Crimes that put someone at "risk of immediate danger of serious bodily injury" involve deadly force and are felonies. This includes shooting a gun toward a person or home.

While other states charge a second offense DUI as a Class A misdemeanor, in Texas, an individual with a blood alcohol count of 0.15 faces a Class A charge on his first offense, according to the Texas District & County Attorneys Association. LegalMatch lists other Class A misdemeanors as crimes such as theft, perjury and violating a restraining order.

Q&A Related to "What is a Class A misdemeanor in Texas?"
A Class C Misdemeanor is a penalty of 40 years in prison or a fine of $100,000. However, if you are a repeat offender, jail time could increase 2 more years.
http://www.ask.com/web-answers/Society/Government_...
Unlawful activity including theft against property, simple assault, driving under the influence of alcohol, negligent homicide and possession of one to 16 ounces of marijuana are
http://www.ehow.com/info_8732393_class-misdemeanor...
http://blog.austindefense.com/2006/09/articles/class-b-misdemeanor-range-of-punishment-texas-penal-code/ has the answer.
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_the_punishment_f...
It depends on the number of times you've been convicted of
http://www.chacha.com/question/what-class-of-misde...
1 Additional Answer
Ask.com Answer for: what is a class a misdemeanor in texas
What Is a Class A Misdemeanor?
Not all crimes are committed with malice aforethought. Some might be the result of poor judgment or immaturity. If you have what seems like a minor brush with the law, you’ll probably regret it but you may not be overly concerned if it’s... More »
Source: www.ehow.com
Explore this Topic
The punishment for evading arrest in Texas can be a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days in jail and/or $2000. However, if a vehicle is used to evade ...
Class A misdemeanor in Kentucky varies. This is a crime that is punishable to a jail term of ninety day to 12 months. You will also be fined $250 as a penalty. ...
In Utah a Class B misdemeanour is a crime that carries a maximum penalty of up to six months in jail or a fine of up to £600. Some of the crimes that warrant ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com