What is a divide landform?


A divide is the highest ridge of terrain separating river basins. Divides can be relatively small and cover just a few dozen miles, or they can stretch thousands of miles. On either side of a divide, water drains into separate basins.

One of the most recognizable divide landforms in the United States is the Western Continental Divide. This ridge in the Rocky Mountains follows peaks in Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado and New Mexico. Snow melt, rivers, streams and lakes west of the Western Continental Divide empty into the Pacific Ocean. Water east of this boundary flows into the Hudson Bay in Canada or into the Gulf of Mexico.

The United States has more than one divide. The Northern Divide runs from Montana to Labrador in Canada. Water north of the divide goes to the Hudson Bay and the Arctic Ocean. South of this demarcation, water runs to the Gulf of Mexico. The Appalachian Mountains in the eastern United States separate water that flows into the Atlantic Ocean and the Gulf of Mexico.

A unique spot known as a triple point exists where two continental divides meet and water flows into three separate watersheds. Five such places are found in the United States. One of these triple points is aptly named Triple Divide Peak in Glacier National Park, Montana.

Q&A Related to "What is a divide landform?"
Landforms are natural occurrences on land, and include volcanoes, mountains, hills, plains, glaciers, plateaus, plains, and even loess, amongst other forms. You can find more information
Landforms get separated by sea's oceans, and rivers.
A coastal or oceanic landform is one created by waves from the ocean crashing on the shore or on the ocean's floor. A coastal landform does not have to presently be near an ocean,
An extensive stretch of high ground from each side of
Explore this Topic
Australia has desert forms in the west and central parts. On the eastern edges, the Great Dividing Range mountains separate the east from the dry central parts ...
Geographically speaking, Mexico can be divided into several distinct regions. The Baja California peninsula, which is the fourth longest in the world, is located ...
The United States is divided into five geographic regions. These are the West (consisting of all those bordering the Pacific Ocean, Alaska, Hawaii, Montana, Wyoming ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com