What is the life cycle of a monkey?


The basic life cycle of a monkey is gestation, babyhood and adulthood, but the length of each of these steps varies based on the type of monkey being described. Monkey gestation can take four to eight months, and monkeys take 18 months to 8 years to reach maturity. After breeding, mature monkeys give birth to one to three babies with one being the most common number.

A snow monkey has a fairly typical life cycle for a monkey. They are born after a short gestation period, and they nurse for about a year. Snow monkeys become adults at age 4, and in captivity, they live up to 30 years.

Some monkeys experience an adolescent phase between being a baby and an adult. For example, the Proboscis monkey stops nursing at seven months old. About five months later when they are 1 year old, young males leave their mothers to hang out with their friends in a group called the bachelor group. Young females, in contrast, stay with the rest of their family in a group called the troop. Although the monkeys are not considered babies during this period, they are not adults either. They spend roughly three years in this role, and they are not ready to breed until they are 4 or 5.

Q&A Related to "What is the life cycle of a monkey?"
they go from a big monkey to a little monkey to a middle monkey
The life cycle of a frog from mating to a full-grown frog takes about 12-16 weeks. The cycle begins with mating, moves on to egg laying, fertilization, hatching into a tadpole, then
Sponges live under water. Most sponges live in salt water. The 5,000 species of sponge belong to the Phylum Porifora. They are further classified into four groups based on what comprises
first you start out with the egg. then the larva(mealworm) then a pup.Last but not least the beetle!
1 Additional Answer
Ask.com Answer for: what is a monkeys life cycle
Kingdom: Animalia Phylum: Chordata Class: Mammalia Order: Primates
Monkeys are primates in the families Cebidae and Cercopithecidae, the New World and Old World monkeys, respectively. There are over 130 species, placed into 29 genera. Monkeys live in Asia, Africa, and Central and South America.
Other matches:
Explore this Topic
The milestones in the life cycle of a spider monkey are birth, juvenile, young adult, adult and death. Babyhood lasts two years before a spider monkey becomes ...
A life cycle refers to the different life stages of a product or business. Over time, products/businesses go through a variety of different stages of growth, the ...
The lifespan of a monkey is around 25 to 30 years. This is however is dependent on which species the monkey is since species like the Rhesus monkey live for up ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com