What is our solar system called?


The planetary system, containing Earth, is officially named the "Solar System," which consists of the Sun and its orbiting objects. PlanetsOfTheSolarSystem.net explains that the Sun does not have a scientific name, but is alternately called "Sol," based on Roman mythology. The name "Solar System" derives from the ancient Roman alternative.

The Sun is one of trillions of stars in the universe and is classified as a Yellow Dwarf type star. The Solar System is one of billions of planetary systems, located within the Milky Way galaxy, of the known universe. The Solar System is estimated to be 4.6 billion years old and contains the Sun, eight planets, five dwarf planets, 169 moons and thousands of asteroids and comets. The eight planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. The five dwarf planets are Pluto, Ceres, Haumea, Makemake and Eris.

1 Additional Answer
Ask.com Answer for: what is our solar system called
The Solar System
From our small world we have gazed upon the cosmic ocean for thousands of years. Ancient astronomers observed points of light that appeared to move among the stars... More »
Explore this Topic
In the solar system, the closest planet to the sun is Mercury. Our solar system constitutes the sun, eight planets, the moons, plutoids, an asteroid belt, meteors ...
The smallest planet in our solar system is called Mercury. Mercury is composed of iron and rock with a density of 5.4 grams per cubic centimetre and it measures ...
Our solar system is not bigger than any galaxy in the universe. Earth's solar system is composed of one star and eight planets, whereas galaxies are composed ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com