What is the capital of Antarctica?


Ask.com Answer for: what is the capital of antarctica
There is no capital city of Antarctica.
Q&A Related to "What is the capital of Antarctica?"
There is no official capital since Antarctica (as defined by everything south of 60 degrees) is governed by international treaty. However, for many people working in the area of the
There are no countries on Antarctica and no permanent population and therefore no capital. Many countries have scientific research stations on Antarctica.
Antarctica is not a nation, and thus, doesn't have a capital. Thanks for the ChaCha!
It has no cities, permanent residents, government, or capital. It's Earth's southernmost continent.
1 Additional Answer

New Zealand, the United Kingdom, France, Norway, Australia, Chile and Argentina all have territorial claims in Antarctica. However, these territories do not have universal recognition among the international community. All territorial claims to the land, in fact, are superseded by the Antarctic Treaty System, a number of treaties that establish Antarctica as a scientific preserve with free movement of scientific teams. The treaties also ban any military activity from taking place on the continent.

About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com