What currency is used in Hawaii?


The U.S. dollar is the currency used in Hawaii. Hawaii became a U.S. state in 1959. Prior to becoming a state, Hawaii was a territory of the United States, annexed in 1898.

From the time Hawaii became a territory of the United states, the dollar has been the currency of the islands. The Kingdom of Hawaii existed for about 100 years, commencing in 1795. The Republic of Hawaii followed the Kingdom. Each of these incarnations maintained its own, unique currencies. Additionally, foreign powers occupied Hawaii during different time periods, with the currency of these nations being used on the islands.

Q&A Related to "What currency is used in Hawaii?"
The United States Dollar.
Currency is paper money that is used in all countries to purchase goods and services from vendors. Some forms of currency are in the shape of coins.You can find more information here
Germany uses either the Euro or the less commonly the Deutsche mark. They went over to the Euro when it was decided that the European countries needed a standard money due to their
Puerto Rico is a commonwealth of the United States and is bound by statute to use its currency. The US dollar is the only acceptable currency there.
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com