What Is the Legal Age to Stay Home Alone?

Answer

There is no specific age that is stated in the law for when a child can be left home alone but the law does advice that children under the age of 12 are still not mature and should not be left alone. It states that those under the age of 16 should not be left alone through the night. However one can be prosecuted for harm that may come to a child when left alone as it can be considered as neglect.
Q&A Related to "What Is the Legal Age to Stay Home Alone"
Only two states have legislated a specific age to leave a child home alone, Illinois and Maryland. Generally speaking, the child must be safe, must feel safe, and know how to take
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_the_legal_age_to...
There is no legal age for children to stay at home alone.
http://www.chacha.com/question/what-is-the-legal-a...
I think it may differ by state. I think it also matters how long, and what time of the day you leave them alone. I was told it was ok to leave my child alone for up to 2 hours prior
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=200903...
The law from Illinois "defines a neglected minor, in part, as ' any minor under the age of 14 years whose parent or other person responsible for the minor's welfare leaves the
http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_the_legal_age_fo...
1 Additional Answer
There is no legal age limit in the United Kingdom for leaving a child on their own. However, it is an offence to leave a child alone if it places them at risk or danger. Moreover, parents are liable for prosecution if they leave a child unsupervised in a manner likely to cause unnecessary suffering or injury to health or their well being.
Explore this Topic
The answer to your question how old does a child need to be to stay home alone in New Jersey is no younger than the age of fourteen and no other children must ...
The law in Texas doesn't specify a specific age to have a child stay home by themselves. There is a law in Texas that states if you leave someone in charge of ...
Sixteen is the age that one can legally leave home. That is, at 16 years of age, one can leave him without the consent of the parent or the guardian. If a parent ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com