What is the official language of the Philippines?


The official language of the Philippines, according to the Philippine constitution, are Filipino and English. Both English and Filipino are used in government, education, print, broadcast media and business, and about 55% of Filipinos speak the language.
Q&A Related to "What is the official language of the Philippines..."
Spanish was an official language of the Philippines until 1973. Since then, the two official languages are Filipino (a de-facto form of Tagalog) and English. The 1987 Philippine constitution
North and South American Countries. North and South American countries that feature English as an official language include Antigua, Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada
The first would be English, followed by Tagalog/Filipino. Spanish is rarely used nowadays. Despite numerous attempts in the past to make Filipino the language of instruction especially
Kiswahili is the official language, English is used in higher education. However, Swahili is also very popular in Tanzania.
2 Additional Answers
Ask.com Answer for: what is the official language of the philippines
The people of Philippines speak Filipino (official), English (official), Tagalog, Cebuano, Ilocano, Hiligaynon or Ilonggo, Bicol, Waray, Pampango, and Pangasinan.
Tagalog is the official language of the Philippines. However, English is commonly used for governmental, educational, and commercial purposes. It is also widely understood since it is the standard of instruction in schools. Philippines are the third leading group of English speaking people in the world, after the United Kingdom and United States.
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2015 Ask.com