What is the time difference between GMT and EST?

Answer

The time difference between Greenwich Mean Time and Eastern Standard Time is five hours. A time of 1 a.m. GMT translates to 8 p.m. EST.

The time difference decreases to minus four hours during Eastern Daylight Savings Time. GMT is also referred to as Coordinated Universal Time, or UTC, an international standard commonly used in computing. Aviators refer to GMT as Zulu Time. GMT is measured at zero degrees longitude, which runs through the Royal Observatory in Greenwich, a suburb of London. GMT is identical to the United Kingdom time zone when the U.K. is not observing British Summer Time.

Explore this Topic
The time difference between EST and GMT is -5 hours. This means that if it is 5pm in GMT, then it is 12 noon in EST. Eastern Standard Time is used in the east ...
GMT stands for Greenwich Mean Time while EST stands for Eastern Standard Time. The difference between GMT and EST is that the GMT time is ahead of the EST time ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com