What is considered third-degree assault in Connecticut?

Answer

According to the Connecticut General Assembly, third-degree assault is discussed in chapter 952 of the Connecticut Penal Code. Assault in the third degree is a class A misdemeanor. Connecticut attorney Erin Field explains that it is defined as intentionally causing injury or recklessly causing serious injury. With criminal negligence, it is defined as causing serious physical injury with a deadly weapon.

According to the CGA website, in Connecticut, assault is categorized into three different levels depending on the intent, how much harm is caused, who the victim is, and whether or not a weapon is used. First-degree assault is the most serious type and includes assault with a deadly weapon, whereas third-degree assault is the least serious and thus typically has the least serious penalty.

Erin Field further explains that the penalty for assault in the third degree is up to one year in prison and up to a $2,000 fine. When the conviction is assault in the third degree with a weapon, a one-year prison term is a mandatory minimum, but the fine is the same. A one-year minimum prison term is also sometimes mandatory if the assault is on a pregnant woman, blind person, Department of Corrections employee or prison official, even if a weapon is not used. Assault with a motor vehicle falls into a separate category and carries additional penalties.

Q&A Related to "What is considered third-degree assault in Connecticut..."
Second degree assault is when someone uses a weapon as part of the assault against another person. Depending on the crime, the person may serve up to 7 years in jail.
http://www.ask.com/web-answers/Health/Diseases/wha...
What is a third degree burn? A third degree burn is an injury that burns through all the layers of the skin, affecting the flesh and tissue below. Third degree burns are incredibly
http://www.life123.com/health/first-aid/burns/what...
Types The degree of an assault charge corresponds to the amount of damage the assailant intended to and caused. The least severe, 3ird degree assault, usually does not involve a weapon
http://www.ehow.com/how_6052891_3rd-degree-assault...
Third degree assault is the lowest level of
http://www.chacha.com/question/what-are-the-rules-...
Explore this Topic
Assault is one of the most widespread of criminal charges. It is charged by degree, first through to third, with first degree assault being the most severe. By ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com