What makes a continent?


A continent is a large land mass on Earth that is distinguished by a separation from other land by water or by a distinct cultural difference. Earth has a total of seven continents: North America, South America, Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia and Antarctica.

Not everyone agrees on which land masses constitute continents. Although many people list the seven traditional continents, some consider Europe and Asia to be one large continent, Eurasia. This is because Europe and Asia are not separated by any large bodies of water. Instead, they compose one large land mass. Also, the countries of Russia and Kazakhstan stretch across both continents. Others continue to separate Europe and Asia, citing the Ural Mountains as sufficient physical separation with cultural differences between the two land areas further cementing the separation.

Many European countries list North America and South America as a single continent, America. In other areas, Antarctica is not considered a continent. These discrepancies in what makes a continent have led geographers to use regions instead of continents when studying parts of the world. This method has led to similar inconsistencies to those associated with the continents. Not all geographers use the same method of dividing the world into regions.

Explore this Topic
Iceland is not part of any geographic continent. However, politically, Iceland belongs to the continent of Europe. Iceland belongs neither to the European continent ...
Indonesia is administratively on the Asia continent. However, Indonesia is not located on a continent but is on a group of islands between Asia and Australia. ...
The continent Ireland is on is the continent of Europe. It is on the far western side of Europe in the North Atlantic Ocean. Ireland is divided into two parts, ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com