What type of government does North Korea have?


The Democratic People's Republic of Korea, known more commonly as North Korea, is a communist state and a dictatorship. Chief of State Kim Jong-un and Premier Pak Pong-ju oversee federal government matters from the nation's capital, Pyongyang. While Pak Pong-ju is head of the nation's government, Kim Jong-un leads the National Defense Commission of North Korea.

Despite titles such as premier, North Korea's behind-the-scenes ruling is a mystery to the rest of the world. Kim Jong-un hails from the Kim Dynasty, which started three generations ago in 1948 with the first Democratic People's Republic of Korea's head of state, Kim Il-sung. Kim Jong-un, who stepped into his leadership role in December of 2011 following the death of his father, Kim Jong-il, is the face of North Korea to many people around the world.

While Kim Jong-un and the NDC manage internal and external security for the nation, Pak Pong-ju heads North Korea's cabinet, which implements national policy. The third arm of North Korea's government is the Politburo of the Central People’s Committee, which serves as the country's policy-making institution. Every resident of North Korea, including its top leaders, is a member of the communist Korean Workers' Party. North Korea is divided into nine provinces and two additional municipalities -- Nasun and Pyongyang.

1 Additional Answer
Ask.com Answer for: what type of government does north korea have
The Government of North Korea
Conventional Name: Democratic People's Republic of Korea
Government Type: Communist state one-man dictatorship
Voting Age: 17 years of age; universal
Chief: Eternal President Kim Jong Un
Head: Premier Pak Pong-ju
Legislature: bicameral legislature consists of the Senate (9 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve four-year staggered terms) and the House of Representatives (20 seats; members are elected by popular vote to serve two-year terms)
Explore this Topic
The main reason that led to the invasion of South Korea by North Korea was to seek ways of forming one united communist government between the two nations. The ...
North Korea's economy is a command economy because it is a dictatorial country. North Korea (DPRK) is a country in East Asia, located in the northern half of the ...
South Korea has a republic form of government with powers shared between the president, the legislature as well as the courts. It is also a sovereign state that ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com