What type of government does Russia have?


In 1991, after the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics' dissolution, Russia began transitioning to self rule as the Russian Federation. The new government adopted its constitution on Dec. 12, 1993. However, the exact distribution of authority among local leaders, regional leaders and the central government continues to evolve.

The Russian Federation encompasses executive, legislative and judicial branches of government. The president, or Russian chief of state, represents the executive branch. Voters elect the president to a four-year term. The position is one of significant power, with the legislative branch subordinate to it. The president serves as commander-in-chief of the nation's armed forces and head of the Russian Security Council. No vice president exists. However, if the president is unable to perform his duties, the premier takes his place.

Russia's legislative branch is its Federal Assembly, which consists of a 178-seat Federation Council and 450-seat State Duma representing the 21 Russian Republics and 66 independent regions and territories.

The nation's judicial system arbitrates any disputes that arise between the legislative and executive branches as well as those between regional and local governments and Moscow. However, the court is not allowed to examine cases based on its own initiative.

A number of political parties are active in Russia.

1 Additional Answer
Ask.com Answer for: what type of government does russia have
The Government of Russia
Conventional Name: Russian Federation
Government Type: federation
Voting Age: 18 years of age; universal
Chief: President Vladimir Putin
Head: Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev
Legislature: bicameral Federal Assembly or Federalnoye Sobraniye consists of an upper house, the Federation Council or Sovet Federatsii (168 seats; as of July 2000, members appointed by the top executive and legislative officials in each of the 84 federal admini
Explore this Topic
Moscow is the heart of Russia, the seat of its government and its capital city. Moscow has more than 10 million residents and is a global business leader.Moscow ...
Russia’s government is a federal government, in which sovereign power is divided, usually by using the constitution, between a central authority and constituent ...
Russia used to be a nation with a centrally planned economic system. However, today, Russia's economic system is undergoing a major transformation. Russia is now ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com