Who is eligible for Medicaid?


Ask.com Answer for: who is eligible for medicaid
To be eligible for Medicaid, you must have a low enough income to qualify (133% of the federal poverty level for nearly all Americans under age 65). In addition, individuals need to satisfy federal and state requirements regarding immigration status.
Even if you are not sure whether you qualify, if you or someone in your family needs health care, you should apply for Medicaid and have a qualified caseworker in your state evaluate your situation.
Q&A Related to "Who is eligible for Medicaid?"
You must have very low income to be eligible for medicaid. Generally people with low income that are pregnant or disabled are eligible and children that come from a family with low
Kansas' Medicaid program was combined with the federal State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) in 2001, creating the HealthWave program. Children must be under age 19 and
Usually anyone 21 years old and younger, or pregnant. There is emergency med. but its a unique if it is givin to you.
People 65 or older with limited income, as well as people who are disabled or blind and
1 Additional Answer

Medicaid health care programs are operated at the state level according to certain minimum standards set by the federal government. State programs must match the federal minimum eligibility standards, but may choose to expand coverage beyond the minimums in order to cover additional people. Thus, the effective minimum eligibility standards vary greatly by state.

For example, federal standards ensure that pregnant women in families earning 133 percent of the federal poverty level or less are eligible for Medicaid in every U.S. state. However, some states offer Medicaid coverage to pregnant women in families earning as much as 185 percent of the federal poverty level, a difference in eligibility requirements that amounts to household income of nearly $8,200 for a husband and wife expecting their first child.

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, popularly known as "Obamacare," includes a program to expand Medicaid eligibility requirements to include all low-income individuals and families that earn 138 percent of the federal poverty level or less. However, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled this part of the law to be voluntary on the part of the states. As of April 2014, 26 states are participating in the expansion of Medicaid eligibility. The remaining 24 states are not moving forward. In those states, the former federal minimum eligibility standards still apply.

Explore this Topic
Medicaid provides health coverage to low-income residents. In South Carolina, the people eligible are infants and children. Pregnant women, elderly and disabled ...
A temporary Medicaid card can be issued if you show proof of eligibility for the program and a medical problem that requires immediate treatment. If you are already ...
About -  Privacy -  Careers -  Ask Blog -  Mobile -  Help -  Feedback  -  Sitemap  © 2014 Ask.com