What does 9/8c mean?
Credit:Nick KoudasPhotodiscGetty Images
Q:

What does 9/8c mean?

A:

Quick Answer

When discussing time zones, 9/8c denotes a time when it is 9 o'clock in the Eastern time zone and 8 o'clock in the central time zone of the United States and Canada. Those times happen simultaneously, but the clock reads different times in different longitudes.

 Know More

Full Answer

The Eastern time zone is four hours behind Greenwich Mean Time, and the central time zone is five hours behind. Greenwich Mean Time, or GMT, is a global time standard. It is the time at the Royal Observatory in Greenwich, London, during the British winter. When it is 9 a.m. Eastern, it is 8 a.m. central, and it is 1 p.m. GMT.

Learn more about Time Zones

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How may time zones are there in the world?

    A:

    There are 24 different time zones in the world set at 15 degree longitude intervals in between. The Earth completes one full rotation in 24 hours at a speed of 15 degrees per hour. The premise behind time zones is that the world is theoretically divided into 24 equal longitudinal zones and the time is accordingly adjusted in each zone by an hour.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How many time zones are in North America?

    A:

    According to the United States Naval Observatory, there are a total of eight time zones in North America. They cover the land from Newfoundland in the far east to the Aleutian Islands of Alaska in the far west.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How do you convert 2pm GMT to EST?

    A:

    You can convert any time listed in GMT to EST by subtracting 5 hours, which means that at 2 p.m. GMT it would be 9 a.m. EST. Greenwich Mean Time, commonly abbreviated as GMT, is the world standard time keeper, and is also referred to as UTC (Coordinated Universal Time). Keep in mind that during the summer months when daylight savings time is in effect, the difference between GMT and EST/EDT is only four hours, instead of five.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    If it is 10 p.m. Pacific time, what time is it in Central time?

    A:

    If it's 10:00 p.m. Pacific time, it's midnight Central time. The four time zones that make up the 48 contiguous states are Eastern, Central, Mountain and Pacific time zones. Central time is two hours ahead of Pacific time.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore